CUPCAKES!

Want to know the ins and outs of making cupcakes?

So firstly what are “CUP” cakes, they are little cakes made in cupcake liners or patty papers and cooked in individual cupcake/muffin trays. Although cupcakes have evolved from the simple butterfly cakes into little decorative works of art with intricate fondant designs, lashings of fluffy buttercream and even cupcake towers. I’ve probably made well over 1,000 cupcakes in my time (I’m not that old HAHA), and I have definitely had my fair share of damaged, burnt and sunken cupcakes, which I actually don’t regret. Why? Because it taught me so much about how to achieve the perfect cupcake!

So here are a few of my tips to achieve the perfect cupcakes.

  1. Use an ice cream scoop to get even and consistent cupcakes
  2. Make sure your oven temp is on the perfect temperature and you put your cupcakes in the middle of the oven to achieve an even bake (yes some people put them in at the bottom but it depends on your oven) I’ve found that in a sensitive oven putting in the middle always works!
  3. Don’t over bake them, a tray of 12 should only take around 15 minutes depending on the recipe.
  4. Your ingredients should be room temp, including eggs, butter and even milk, you know that curdling you see once you start adding milk? Well I’ve found that if your milk is cold it starts to shock your batter.
  5. DO NOT and I repeat DO NOT put your cupcakes in any kind of air tight container and put the lid on if any of the cupcakes are warm. Even if you put 1 hot cupcake in a container full of cold cupcakes the liners will start to detach from the cupcake.
  6. Always tip your cupcakes from the cupcake tray when they come out of the oven to avoid any burnt/overcooked bottoms.
  7. Buttermilk or yoghurt is a great addition to achieve that fluffy moist texture!

Decorating cupcakes:

So what’s your favourite way to decorate cupcakes? Are you a buttercream lover or a fondant lover? Do you prefer jam and cream? Or do you just want them completely plain?

I personally prefer the taste of IMBC or SMBC (Italian/Swiss meringue buttercream) or jam and cream BUT I prefer the look of fondant. So what I normally do if I’m decorating cupcakes for an event is to put SMBC underneath a fondant topper. To further explain, the fondant tipper is made prior to baking the cupcakes where they go hard and form a domed shape that covers the cupcake and frosting. The domed cupcake toppers I made can be made using either cupcake dome foam or you can do what I do and make it using a sphere silicone mould. I use a round cookie cutter that fits about ½ an inch over the actual cupcake size the one I usually use is 78mm in width. Cut them out one by one as you work with them and I also use a foam ball to shape these rounds before placing them on the silicone mould to harden. To turn them into “couture” cupcakes add various ornate looking mould shapes and details to add to that polished and prestigious look! You can literally go nuts with design.

Once your cupcakes are baked, cooled and your toppers are hardened, add some frosting to the bottom of the topper and put on top of the cupcake, don’t add too much TRUST ME I’ve made this mistake and its literally squished out the sides (FAIL).

Because I’ve been so MIA with these posts I thought I’d explain for those who are demanding answers (no one HAHA), I have been extremely busy trying to finish off university and thankfully I am completely finished! So now its caking time! This will be my last post until January 2017…Something exciting and special is coming so please stay tuned and subscribe to this blog because it is where I’ll be announcing it!

Thank you for your patience and support for everyone who read, shared and commented on my blogs I have lots of love and respect for you all. Here is an awesome cupcake recipe that I go to EVERY SINGLE TIME! As well as some pictures of couture cupcakes I’ve made to serve as inspiration for your next cupcake adventure.

Makes 24 cupcakes
Ingredients:

2 ½ cups SF flour
¼ teaspoon Salt
113g Butter
2 Eggs
1 Vanilla bean
1 Milk
¼ cup Buttermilk
1 ¾ cup Sugar

Method:

  1. Cream your butter, sugar and vanilla until fluffy
  2. Add eggs one at a time and scrape in between
  3. Sift flour and weigh out your milk and buttermilk
  4. Add flour and milk alternatively
  5. Beat for 20 seconds until pale
  6. Scoop into your cupcake liners and bake at 130-50 degrees for 15 minutes

 

DSCN9405.jpg

DSCN9402.jpg

12011411_10206103860289705_7154174597804845894_n

Love Nelle, xox

Leave a Reply

